Christmas Catalogues of Bygone Days

Posted on

I’ve written about the Montgomery Ward’s catalogue before; the catalogue I wrote about came out for the Christmas of 1934, and the images are priceless not only for their historical interest, but also the price comparisons, the cultural and social expectations of buyers’ needs, and the illustrations.  Things have changed a great deal in some ways, and very little in others:  Instead of a printed catalogue that needed to have orders placed weeks (if not months) in advance to get it in time for Christmas, we can now order things online and have an estimated delivery date that we can by and large (that’s a nautical term, just FYI!) count on.  So, without further ado, here are some images for your enjoyment (just click on them for a closer look)!

1934 Christmas catalogue from Montgomery Ward 1 1934 Christmas catalogue from Montgomery Ward 3 1934 Christmas catalogue from Montgomery Ward 4 1934 Christmas catalogue from Montgomery Ward 6 1934 Christmas catalogue from Montgomery Ward 7 1934 Christmas catalogue from Montgomery Ward 10

About Trinity

A melancholic pragmatist with a wide streak of mischief and an active imagination that turns into novels.

2 responses »

  1. When I was a girl, I remember the “old folks” remarking on how little things used to cost. Now I’m one of them (LOL)!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I understand what you mean; though my experience has been skewed by immigrating – twice! So what used to cost 50¢ in my childhood cost £2 in my twens, and now costs 10 Francs! 😉

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment